Tuesday, 21 February 2012 07:02

The Oxford Companion to Chess

The Oxford Companion to Chess is a chess book written as a reference book by David Hooper and Kenneth Whyld. The book was published by Oxford university press in 1984, the 1992 second edition has more than 2500 entries, including rules, terms, strategies, tactics, over 500 brief biographies of famous players, and entries on more than 700 named openings and opening variations.

  • First published in 1984 by Oxford University Press
  • Reissued in paperback (with corrections) in 1987 by Oxford University Press
  • Second edition published in 1992 by Oxford University Press, ISBN 0-19-866164-9
  • Paperback version of the second edition in 1996 ISBN 978-0192800497
Published in Books

Vinkle.com Android app