Rugby World Cup 2011

Rugby World Cup 2011 is the seventh edition of the Rugby World Cup, an international tournament for rugby to be played every four years since 1987. At the meeting of the International Rugby Board (IRB), international rugby's governing body and organizer of the event, held in Dublin on November 17 of 2005, was selected the candidacy of New Zealand to host the tournament. Candidates to host the World Cup were Japan, South Africa and New Zealand. The IRB council held two rounds of voting to elect the host country, South Africa's bid being eliminated in the first round.

It is hoped that the event will generate an expenditure of approximately 310 million NZ $ and a turnover of 280 million NZ $ only in respect of ticket sales and about 700 million NZ $ as a result of the arrival of country fans. The 2011 World Cup will be the largest sporting event in the history of New Zealand over the Rugby World Cup 1987, the Commonwealth Games in 1990, the Cricket World Cup 1992, the Copa America or the tour of the British-Irish Lions in 2005. 100,000 people are expected to arrive in the country on the occasion of the acts of the tournament.

The tournament takes place over seven weeks from September 9, ending with the dispute of the final on October 23, at Eden Park in Auckland.

Participating teams in this world as in the Rugby World Cup 2007, is 20. The top finishers are the top three in each group of the World Cup Rugby 2007. These teams are: South Africa, England, Tonga, Australia, Fiji, Wales, New Zealand, Scotland, Italy, Argentina, France and Ireland.


Twenty teams will contest the 2011 Rugby World Champion title in the world of rugby. The next twelve teams automatically qualified for this competition to be completed at least third in the dispute of the group stage of the Rugby World Cup 2007:

  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • England
  • Fiji
  • France
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • New Zealand
  • Scotland
  • South Africa
  • Tonga
  • Wales

The following eight teams qualified for the World Cup through the regional qualifying rounds. The twentieth and final spot for the World Cup was the winner of the playoff stage between Romania and Uruguay, which was played on November 27, 2010.

  • Canada
  • Georgia
  • Japan
  • Namibia
  • Russia
  • Samoa
  • United States
  • Romania

The Russian team is the only participating for the first time in an edition of the Rugby World Cup. Android app